Boob Flu

It figures that within 10 days of my being back to work, I come down with mastitis. Last night before I went to bed, I felt really sore under my right arm pit, but there was no discernible lump and I had just successfully pumped so I though little of it and went to bed. I was exhausted, and when I crawled into bed, I just couldn’t get warm (my feet were freezing). I threw on a long sleeved shirt and went back to bed, only to wake up at 3 AM sweating profusely but feeling too terrible to bother to do anything about it.

When I woke up this morning, after I fed the small one, my arm pit was throbbing (but still no lump) and I had an awful headache. I took my temperature and it was 99 – not bad for most people, but I usually hang around 97.8 so this is officially fever territory for me. And so I pumped out the rest of my boobs, emailed my boss to say I’d be in at noon and went back to bed. By the time I woke up at 10, the fever was up to 99.8 and I was dizzy. Assuming this was indeed mastitis and based on everything I’d read, I nursed the small one on the right side, and I swear this kid is just so perceptive because while he normally nurses for maybe ten minutes he hung on for a half hour to help out his mom. What a kid!

Normally, I would have just stayed home and spent the rest of the day in bed, but as I mentioned above, I just got back to work and I don’t want to be that girl who takes sick days (especially as I am now the sole bread winner and given this economy).  And so I decided it would be a good idea to drive in instead of walk, as mastitis is more common in the cold and it is fridgid out today.  So, of course, my car battery decides to die.  Oh, and the alarm, which has been disabled for over five years, decides to go off and I have absolutely no idea where the clicker is.  My husband steps out the front door and gives me that “I am so sorry” look of pity you’d give to a guy with a broken leg who just fell down the stairs, crutches flung every which way.  And then he hands me his car keys.

At least I found a parking spot right outside the building.

Leave a Reply

