About last night…

Now seriously child, we need to talk.  That wasn’t you.  I know you (or I thought I knew you), and you don’t wake up six times in one night and not settle back down after any of them.  No, you’re a three meals a night, only fuss during one of them kinda Joe.

I feel like I don’t even know you anymore.

And this is what the week three growth spurt is like.  You’ve finally begun to hit your parenting stride, you can predict within a half hour when the small one will rise and about how long it will take to feed him, you actually look fairly well rested for someone with an infant at home, and then all of a sudden the kid comes home with an eyebrow ring, only listens to punk metal and decides he needs to eat every hour and a half.  What the hell?

Someone please tell me this growth spurt doesn’t last the entirety of week three.

4 Responses to “About last night…”

  1. zoe krylova Says:

    if i remember correctly, growth spurts usually last a just a couple of days. but they almost always hit just when you think you are reaching your stride. the same thing tends to happen with teething, or colds. i found (and still find!) that parenting is all about reinventing the wheel, over and over again.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    I second zoe’s comments, its awesome.

  3. Maria-Elena Says:

    I remember that night waking seems to coincide with growth spurts and strides in development. It seemed as though the baby needed extra connection time to feel confident moving forward during those times. With my first son, I would focus on getting him back to sleep whenever he woke up and it often took hours. With the second, I felt I better understood what was going on, and rather than try to get him to sleep, I just held him, and he would be back asleep very quickly. Zoe’s right about reinventing the wheel – something about getting complacent just doesn’t sit well with the universe! 🙂

  4. Maria-Elena Says:

    P.S. I found that I and the baby slept the best when I brought the baby into bed with me. Night feedings were as simple as rolling over, and I stopped waking in terror every time the baby slept for more than a couple of hours. At first I was afraid I would roll on top of the baby, but I learned the mothers simply do not do that unless they are extraordinarily tired or under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Bed sharing is not for everyone, but I loved every moment of it and was sad when the boys finally took to their own beds.

Leave a Reply

