Nail Biter

I was a nail biter for 25 years.  It wasn’t until I was in the midst of wedding planning that I finally manged to break the habit, largely because I realized that every in-law I hadn’t met would be asking to look at my hands on the big day, and the gnarled stumps I callmy finger tips wouldn’t do any justice to the rings my new husband had meticulously picked up.  And so I broke down, paid for a manicure and managed to avoid chewing on my own fingers for almost two years with only two exceptions; when I quit my old job and this week.

Do we see a pattern here?  Could it be that in times of stress or major change, I go for my nails like a type two diabetic to a pastry cart? 

Did you here that, small one?  If you don’t get this show on the road soon, your mom might not have any hands left to hold you with.

Leave a Reply

