How close am I?

Okay, so the last two days I’ve just felt weird, whereas last week I felt like a rockstar, so I’ve done a little self-destructive googling and found a list of common signs that labor may soon begin, care of www.babies.sutterhealth.org

The most common signs that labor may soon begin include:

  1. The baby “drops” or engages into the pelvis, which is called lightening.  [the small one has dropped]
  2. Your abdomen usually appears lower and more protruding. [I look like I have a box attached to the front fo me and my shirts don’t cover my belly anymore]
  3. You may experience a greater ease in breathing, relief from heartburn and an ability to eat larger portions.  [I can breathe again, but I can’t eat and I never had heartburn] However, the lower position of the baby together with its greater size, can lead to: Increased backache and sacroiliac discomfort [no problems here], Increased awkwardness in walking [oh god yeah], and Increased frequency of urination [I’d say at least 12 times a day]
  4. Frequent bowel movements may be experienced within 48 hours of labor, cleansing the lower bowel in preparation for birth. [sorry to overshare, but yeah]
  5. Diarrhea [uh-huh, see above] or flu like symptoms without fever. Indigestion, nausea, or vomiting are common a day or so before labor begins [I’m a bit queasy and I don’t want to eat, and my somach sounds like white water rapids].
  6. Increased vaginal discharge during the last few weeks of pregnancy as the body prepares for the passage of the baby through the birth canal [I call it that not so fresh feeling].
  7. Increased Braxton-Hicks contractions during the last weeks of pregnancy [some, but at least they don’t hurt anymore]
  8. Possible “bloody show” or the release of slightly brown, pink or blood-tinged mucus from effacement and dilation (the thinning and opening) of the cervix, causing the mucus plug to be released from the cervix. [nothing on this fron yet]
  9. Some women notice a sudden burst of energy, sometimes called a “nesting instinct” approximately 24-48 hours before the start of labor. [more like a sudden drop in energy for me] 
  10. A loss or leveling off in weight may be noticed in the last few days before labor begins. It is common to lose 1-3 pounds of fluid before labor begins as a result of hormonal shifts. [nope – gained 2 pounds in the past two weeks]
  11. Mother just feels “different,” not quite herself. [definitely]
  12. The bag of water may break. Depending on the location of the break in the amniotic sac, the break can feel like a gush, or an uncontrolled trickle of fluid coming from the vagina. [nothing yet]

So I’m 8 for 12.  Any bets on when I’ll pop?

Leave a Reply

