Week 30

Baby: Your baby measures about 17 inches from head to toe and weighs about 3 pounds. Baby is growing plumper and beginning to control its own body temperature. Eyebrows and eyelashes are fully developed, and hair on the head is getting thicker. Head and body are now proportioned like a newborn’s. Hands are now fully formed and fingernails are growing.

Mom-to-be: Your uterus is about four inches above your navel, and it’s hard to believe you still have about 10 weeks to go as baby continues to push on your ribs. You may be feeling more discomfort in your pelvis and abdomen. You’ll probably be gaining about a pound a week.

Thanks, Web MD.

Yeah, hard to believe is a bit of an understatement.  It feels like I’ve been pregnant forever.  How do I have 2 full months left?  Not that I actually have anything ready – I’ve bought no stuff, the room is still cluttered with boxes of crap we don’t use but haven’t committed to throwing away, the bag isn’t packed, the car seat isn’t even purchased yet let alone installed in the car… you get the point.  So I should be grateful that I have 10 more weeks to do, well, everything.  But I also can’t believe I have that much more time to get bigger.  I’m quite big enough, thank you very much.  And tired enough.  And I certainly get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom enough. 

Last week in my yoga class a woman was officially three days from her due date, and when the instructor asked how she was feeling her reply was simply ” I want this baby out now.”  Everyone in the room nodded in silent agreement.

Leave a Reply

