Week 29

Baby: Your baby measures about 10.4 inches from crown to rump, or a total length of about 16.7 inches from head to toe, and weighs about 2.7 pounds. At this stage a fetus’s eyes are almost always blue and can distinguish bright sunlight or artificial light through the uterine wall. Baby is performing fewer acrobatics as conditions in the womb become more cramped, but still doing a lot of kicking and stretching.

Mom-to-be: Your uterus is about 3.5 to 4 inches above your navel. Weight gain is probably between 19 and 25 pounds. As odds improve that baby could survive outside the womb — although in a neonatal intensive-care unit — you may be feeling relieved and excited, or anxious about motherhood, your baby’s health, and labor and delivery. If you do experience premature labor, signs include menstrual-like cramps or lower back pain, a trickle of amniotic fluid, or a watery pinkish or brownish discharge preceded sometimes by the passage of a thick, gelatinous mucus plug. Your practitioner often can stop labor from progressing with bed rest, muscle relaxants or other drugs, possibly requiring hospitalization.

and?

Right now I’m just tired.  Really tired.  As in took a two hour plus nap on Friday, Saturday and Sunday tired.  Let’s see how I get through work today without my mandatory nap time.  And I’m uncomfortable.  The gall bladder is now just a general soreness that doesn’t go away (like a bruise almost), but does get more pronounced after eating.  Yeah, I sound like I really love being pregnant, don’t I?  But I don’t feel any bigger, so I guess that’s something. 

So far no signs of early labor (thank god) – not even any braxton hicks.  We’re not even going to entertain the idea that the small one might make such an early appearance, and that’s all I’m going to say on the matter (at least until I’m singing a different tune when I’m two weeks past my due date and the size of an adolescent whale).

I’m beginning to get anxious about being ready, but I blame that on my not having any stuff yet (something my two September showers will remedy and then some).  So now, when I’m not napping, I’m trying to get through Babywise, which is so horribly written I’m finding it difficult to finish (but that’s just me being snobby – like someone who claimed they couldn’t follow a recipe because the grammar was so poor).  I’ll post more on the book at a later date, assuming I ever struggle through. 

The husband is getting anxious as well, but I think it’s mostly that he is really ready for me not to be pregnant anymore so he can have his wife back (he has no idea what he’s in for post partum, the poor guy).

One Response to “Week 29”

  1. TulipGirl Says:

    Poorly written, poorly researched. . . While some babies and moms “fit” within the Babywise norm, many (if not most) do not. I found more help reading good books in infant and toddler development and breastfeeding.

Leave a Reply

