one hundred thirty-seven

Yup, I am officially a fatty.  I somehow managed to pack on ten (10!) pounds in the past month and am now weighing in at 137 pounds.  Sure, I’m pregnant, I’m supposed to gain weight, but my doc was pretty insistent I gain between 20 and 25 lbs for the entire pregnancy and this puts me at a 17 lb increase with 13 long weeks to go.  There is no way I’m only gaining 3 to 8 pounds in the next three months. 

The doc insisted that he must have had the “wow, slow down there” talk with at least four preggos yesterday alone, and that at some point almost everybody has the ten pound month, but that now it’s time to be diligent. 

And he’s right – I was so on track for five months that I let several bad habits sneak in (the nightly ice cream sandwich instead of the glass of chocolate milk, the cheese sandwich when everyone else is eating cold cuts instead of opting for hummus, the sugary beverage when everyone else is drinking beer or wine instead of seltzer water, the new cupcake place down the street from my office…).  All this get compounded by the fact that I get winded so easily now that the nightly dog walk is more like a quarter mile than a mile, and the half mile walk to work is now a 15 minute stroll instead of my previously brisk pace.  I need to get my ass to the gym and start swimming laps until this summer heat breaks, as I refuse to give birth to some 8 lb. behemoth of a child. 

My goal for this month is to keep to weight gain down to two pounds – that’s 1/5 of what I packed on last month.  Looks like it’s time to switch back to skim milk.  I’ll miss you, vanilla milk shake.

One Response to “one hundred thirty-seven”

  1. Mama Says:

    Seriously, don’t sweat the weight gain. Weight gain doesn’t always correlate with birthweight, unless you’re on the extremely high or extremely low end. I’m 5’2″, pretty thin, gained about 23 lbs w/my son, and he was 8lb 5oz. Ten days early. And, frankly, a breeze to deliver – fast, easy labor, super-quick recovery. 8 lbs is nothin’!! Nowhere near behemoth territory. Besides, sometimes it seems you could subsist on lettuce and ice water and still gain 10 lbs in a month. Your body knows what it’s doing; you’re just along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

