Week 27

Baby: Your baby measures about 9.6 inches from crown to rump and weighs a little more than 2 pounds. Hands are active and muscle coordination is such that he can get his thumb into his mouth. Thumb-sucking calms the baby and strengthens his cheek and jaw muscles. Your baby can cry now.

Mom-to-be: You may see stretch marks as your uterus continues to expand. Most women have gained about 16 to 22 pounds by now. Balance and mobility also may be changing as you grow larger.

Thanks, WebMD.

So how goes it?  Well, at the last ultrasound, the small one was already sucking his thumb [insert obnoxious, obligatory oh how advanced my child is comment here], so we’ve got that one covered.  The kicking is pretty constant (usually beginning ten minutes after I eat anything or five minutes after I sit or lay down), so things are still rockin’ and rollin’ in there. 

As for me, no stretch marks yet (oh please oh please oh please may the pregnancy gods have mercy on my skin).  I no longer fit into any of my pre-pregnancy clothing shy of two pairs of yoga pants (yippee for lycra), and while everyone keeps commenting on how I still look so small and cute, I can’t get my head around the fact that I have three months of bigger to go.  My ribs are already completely squished so the small one doesn’t have anywhere to go but out.  My energy level is a B- as I don’t need naps but I do go to bed by 10 and walking more than a half mile leaves me slightly winded, something my poor dog is not enjoying now that his afternoon walk has been downgraded to an amble.

I have a doctor’s appointment later today, so more news then on his interpretation of the ultrasound and the results of my glucose test.

Leave a Reply

