Week 25

Baby: Your developing baby now measures about 8.8 inches from crown to rump and weighs 1.5 pounds. Skin now becomes opaque instead of transparent. Its body is still covered with folds like a puppy dog that need to grow into its skin. Heartbeat can be heard through a stethoscope or, depending on the position of the baby, by others putting an ear against your belly.

Mom-to-be: Besides your uterus growing upward, it may be getting bigger on the sides of your abdomen. You may be experiencing hemorrhoids, which are dilated blood vessels in the rectal area caused by increased blood flow, constipation, indigestion and heartburn.

And?

It would be no exaggeration to say that the kicking has increased.  My little brother was sitting across the room from me on Sunday and saw my belly moving from the assault.  There is no doubt that I’ve got a kid in here. 

Otherwise, I feel pretty darn uncomfortable after I eat, like there’s a tennis ball under the right side of my rib cage which magically appears within five minutes of my swallowing anything more then a cookie.  So I just awkwardly lean back in my chair and stick out my chest if I have more food to eat and attempt to finish the ordeal or in those cases where I’m able to shovel all the food down before the knot appears I either stand up really straight or do the classic pregnant lady hands on her hips lean back to try and make room in my abdomen post-gorge.  It’s definitely not miserable yet (key word being yet), but I just keep thinking “how am I possibly going to get bigger?” 

Otherwise, no new aches and pains.  Which at this point is really all I can hope for.

Leave a Reply

