Week 24

Baby: Your baby, now about in its 22nd week of development, is 8.4 inches from crown to rump and weighs about 1.2 pounds. It is starting to produce white blood cells, mostly for combating disease and infection, and may respond to your touch or sounds. If you haven’t felt hiccups yet, you might feel some jerking motion now.

Mom-to-be: Your uterus is about 1.5 to 2 inches above your navel. Expect to gain about a pound per week this month. Glucose screens for detecting gestational diabetes are given between this week and 28 weeks.

Tip of the Week: Dad-to-be might be able to hear the baby’s heartbeat by putting his ear to your abdomen.

Thank you, WebMD.  And me?

Husband felt the baby kick for the first time this weekend, but hasn’t tried listening for a heartbeat (sounds like a fun experiment for this evening – some people go out, we sit in the house with an ear pressed firmly to my midsection).  In his post-Fourth hangover, he cutely remarked that he’s ready for the baby to come already.  I’m a-okay with letting the little guy bake a bit longer, but the sentiment made me smile. 

As for me, the leg cramps have made an unwelcomed return (which I blame on having missed both swim and yoga last week).  Sleeping at night is getting more difficult, but I think it may have something to do with the fickle nature of our AC vs. the great pillow dance I engage in each evening (one behind my back, one under my belly which I hug to stay on my side, one between my legs to ward of pelvic cramps caused by my ever expanding hips – all of which get repositioned every time I turn over or get up to pee – so basically every two hours at minimum). 

As for the small one, no hiccups yet.  He tends get active ten minutes after I eat or twenty minutes after I lay down (I think the shifting direction of gravity may cause him to need to reposition – so I’m sure he just loves the nightly dance I put him through).

I know, I’m fixating, but it’s so fun to use a pronoun now.

One Response to “Week 24”

  1. Maria-Elena Says:

    When I was pregnant, I found that I would only get muscle cramps when I wasn’t getting enough calcium in my diet. I highly recommend the Bradley diet for producing healthy pregnancies and perfect APGAR scores. You can find it here: http://www.bradleybirth.com/PD.aspx

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

