Week 22

Baby: Your baby measures about 7.6 inches and weighs about 12.3 ounces. The muscles are getting stronger every week now, and the eyelids and eyebrows are developed. Your baby’s acrobatics are pretty constant, and since he responds to sound, rhythm and melody, you can try singing and talking to him. After he’s born, the same sounds will soothe him.

Mom-to-be: Your uterus is continuing to grow, but you’re probably feeling pretty good — no more morning sickness, and your abdomen isn’t so large that it’s getting in the way very much. You may still be getting leg and foot cramps, as well as mild swelling of ankles and feet.

and me, you ask?

Well, I’m a rather cute little pregnant lady at this point… I walk belly first, but it’s not so oppressive that crowds part like water to let me through.  The kicking continues and is still rather fun, although my husband still can’t seem to feel anything despite having a hand constantly planted on my tummy.  So far the leg cramps have not returned (thank god), and I do feel pretty good.  The appetite is officially here – not ravenously so, but I am again able to finish an appetizer, entree and dessert while out to eat, and then wash is down with a giant glass of chocolate milk when I get home.  So yeah, i’m growing exponentially. 

Sleeping has become the great pillow coordination – with me lying on my side, I have one wedged against my back (so I don’t flop onto my back), one between my legs (to keep my hips aligned), and a third pillow which I basically hug from the front/use as a wedge under my belly so I don’t squish the small one.  Turning over is quite the ordeal, and the dog does not approve of my constant restlessness/getting up to use the bathroom (although he did proceed to steal my spot on the bed during one trip to go pee this weekend and then refused to budge – not the battle of wills I was up for at 3:30 in the morning).  I’m still getting enough sleep, even if it is interrupted, so I’m not yet in zombie woman mode, although this weekend did involve epic naps on both Saturday and Sunday, and I loved every minute of them. 

The crazy thing is that next week marks the beginning of month 6 – SIX!  It simultaneously feels like I’ve been pregnant forever and that I cannot believe I have 3 more months to go (and get bigger!), and that I am amazed we are already this far along and October will be here before I know it.  The whole experience is just. so. weird. 

Leave a Reply

