Week 20

Baby: The fetus measures about 5.6 to 6.4 inches from crown to rump and weighs about 9 ounces. Your baby can hear sounds by now — your voice, heart and your stomach growling, as well as sounds outside your body. It will cover its ears with its hands if a loud sound is made near you, and it may even become startled and “jump.” The baby is moving often, too — twisting, turning, wiggling, punching and kicking.

Mom-to-be: Congratulations! You’re at about the midpoint of your pregnancy. Your uterus is just about even with your navel. Your waistline has pretty much disappeared, but only temporarily! The risk of bladder infections increases because the smooth muscles in the urinary tract relax. Your breathing will become deeper and you may perspire more than usual from a more active thyroid gland.

Where do I stand?

Me: At my last appointment I’d gained a total of 5 pounds, but now I’m more like 6.5 lbs so far for the pregnancy, so we’ll see if I’m starting to pack on weight too quickly at my appointment next Monday. I definitely don’t have a waistline anymore and I can no longer fake it with my normal pants and a Bella Band – it’s maternity pants or skirts and dresses from here on out. I am more sensitive to the heat than I used to be, but it doesn’t help that we’ve had record temperatures this past week for so early in June so I couldn’t attest to any excess sweating – I’d say it would be abnormal if I weren’t a sweaty mess in 100 degree weather. I actually went so far as to buy a kiddie pool and sit in it all day Sunday to cool off – worked like a charm! I don’t care how redneck it was, that was the best $10 I’ve spent in ages.

Baby: The last appointment was uneventful and the heartbeat sounded fine, but I still haven’t felt anything and I’m anxiously waiting for the ultrasound on June 30th when we’ll find out the gender (assuming the small one isn’t bashful).

Overal Rating of Week 20: 8 (I’m starting to get used to this being pregnant thing, but that’s balanced out by a complete inability to get comfortable every night when I go to bed – and damn it, when am I going to feel this baby move?)

Leave a Reply

