Week 12

So remember last week how a said I would post the weekly updates on Fridays?  Well, per the Musical Due Dates post, I now turn a week more pregnant on Mondays so here’s where I stand:

Per WebMD, per usual:

Baby: The fetus now measures about 2.5 inches from crown to rump and weighs between three-tenths of an ounce and half an ounce. It is fully formed, from tooth buds to toenails, and your baby’s job now is to continue getting larger and stronger for the rest of your pregnancy. With the most critical development behind the fetus, the chance of miscarriage drops considerably after this week.

Mom-to-be: Nausea and energy start to improve. You may be experiencing occasional headaches, dizziness and fatigue from hormonal changes. If it’s your first baby, you still could be wearing loose-fitting clothes, but if you’ve had other pregnancies, you’ll probably start to show earlier and may be in maternity clothes. The typical weight gain by now is about three to five pounds. Fathers-to-be might also experience pregnancy symptoms, called couvade or “hatching,” during the third month and at delivery, including nausea, abdominal pain, appetite changes and weight gain.

Again, not much update on the small one, as last week’s doctor’s appointment amounted to little more than “your bloodwork looks good, let’s listen to the heartbeat.”  Being he had one, I’m going to go with the baby is fine.  Fun side note, DH and I now refer to it as a boy, based on nothing but gut instinct. 

As for me, I have been feeling better.  The little naseau I was feeling most mornings is gone, and I managed to stay up until 11 PM all weekend, so the debilitating exhaustion is easing up.  So far the weight gain is only 1 lb., which is a-okay with me since my doc didn’t want me to gain anything the first trimester.

The big question I keep getting from folks is when am I going to start showing.  If I were in a bikini and you knew me from Adam, you would have a 60-40 chance of guessing I was pregnant (or had really let myself go), but you probably wouldn’t say anything just in case.  I did have one friend tell me my boobs look huge, but the old bras still fit so I think the comment was more prompted by my wearing a tight sweater than any substantial enlargement (now had I been wearing a v-neck, the enhanced cleavage could be a tip off).  Most of my pants don’t button, but once I wiggle into a Bella Band, you’d be none the wiser unless my shirt drifted north.  Some days I think I’m showing, but honestly, it could just be that I don’t suck in anymore.

Overall rating of week 12: 8 (I’m a-okay, the baby is a-okay, and it’s starting to be fun to joke about the impending doom that is parenthood)

One Response to “Week 12”

  1. Sara Says:

    I hopped over from cvillain, but I’m just a lurker there for the most part…

    Your blog entries are long, but I really enjoyed reading them! If my guy and I have a baby, it’ll probably happen the same way yours did… I think about it fairly often though and am obviously fascinated enough to read things like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

