Week 11

So last week I posted this segment on Monday, but technically speaking Friday marks the beginning of each new week, so I’ll be posting my weekly updates per WebMD on Fridays when I’m on the proverbial ball (as today is week 11 day 0 if that makes any sense at all, and pregnancy calendar-related math never seems to be too logical).

Baby: Your fetus, about the size of a large lime, measures about 1.75 to 2.4 inches from crown to rump and weighs about three-tenths of an ounce. About now the rapid “swooshing” noises of the heartbeat can be heard through a Doppler sound-wave stethoscope. Fingernails and external genitalia are showing distinguishing characteristics, and the baby is swallowing and kicking, although you still won’t feel it.

Mom-to-be: Your uterus is almost big enough to fill your pelvis and may be felt in your lower abdomen. You may also experience changes in hair, skin, fingernails or toenails.

So I have no idea about what’s happening with the small one, but I should have an update for that on Monday as I have another doctor’s appointment. This whole leaving work for two hours every four weeks thing is beginning to look sketchy for me – maybe I‘ll tell them next week. Or maybe I’ll totally wus out.

As for me, the pregnancy-related acne is starting to clear up, although the skin on my back is crazy, living in a cold climate at high altitude dry. My hair is definitely thicker and shinier (if that’s possible given the mane I’ve always had) and I’ve found that I need to wash it every day or I look like I’ve just returned from an Outward Bound excursion. As for the fingernails and toenails, they are now growing at a much faster pace, which makes the whole “don’t go to nail salons while pregnant” advice quite annoying.

That being said, I haven’t felt queasy all week and I’m not as exhausted as I was last week, so maybe the “second trimester is bliss” bit I keep reading about in all the books isn’t just a lie they tell you to get your through the first three months. Two more weeks to go and I’m officially 1/3 done!

Overall rating of Week 11 so far – 7 (fine – basically unobtrusive unless I’m craving food on the no-no list but no exciting baby stuff yet)

Leave a Reply

