Week 10

Week 10 per WebMD
Baby: Congratulations! Your baby is now officially called a “fetus.” It looks a little like a medium shrimp, measuring 1.25 to 1.68 inches from crown to rump, and weighing a little less than two-tenths of an ounce. You might be reassured to know that most physical malformations, when they occur, have occurred by the end of this week, so the most critical part of your baby’s development is safely behind you. But other developmental processes, such as those affecting behavior and intelligence, will continue throughout pregnancy. Eyes are covered by skin that will eventually split to form eyelids.

Mom-to-be: You still probably don’t show, but you may be wearing looser clothes. You may even be starting to eye maternity clothes, although you probably still don’t need them. You may continue to feel tired and moody, but take heart: These symptoms shouldn’t last too much longer.

So how do I stack up?

Baby: Well, at 9 weeks, 4 days the small one was 2.6 cm long (which is 1.02 inches), so it looks like things are probably right on track. 

As for the being reassured about the whole deformity thing, well, that’s like saying “don’t bother to worry about it now – if you were going to manage to totally screw this up you’ve already done so, so you might as well sit back and relax until it’s born and you get to see how much mayhem you can cause in a mere 10 weeks. Then you get 18 years to do the same damage emotionally. Happy parenting!” That being said, it totally has two arms and two legs, so at this point it seems like any major mess up could be resolved by moving to a colder climate where shoes and gloves are often required.

Me: I am definitely not showing but definitely wearing looser clothes. I haven’t gone so far as to buy maternity clothing per say, but I have been eyeing the Gap’s website and I did purchase two Bella Bands, which are basically just like a tube top-style body shaper that allows you to unbutton your fly and simultaneously keep your pants from falling down/your co-workers from thinking you are so absent-minded you don’t remember to fully redress after trips to the rest room. I plan to give these to every friend I know once they tell me they’re pregnant, as they are amazing.

As for being tired, I am definitely still exhausted. For example, this Sunday I slept in until 10 AM, took a nap from 2 PM – 4 PM, sat on the couch until 10 PM and promptly went to bed. I didn’t move beyond trips to the bathroom or the fridge from 4 PM on. I personally don’t think I’ve been moody (or any more moody than usual), but you’d have to ask my husband. I know he thinks I’ve become pickier and lazier, but I blame that on being tired, not hormonal.

It’s not just being tired, you see, it’s like completely losing the ability to focus. I know all I need to do is fold some laundry, but the effort it takes to get up and start sorting through the pile is daunting in a way I did not know was possible pre-pregnancy. Unfortunately, not being pregnant himself, my husband is understandably having difficulty with this concept as he cooks for me and I pick at the food, only to be hungry again in two hours, all while completely failing to hold up my end of the household chores. I try to tell him this is supposed to go away second trimester but he understandably dreads that it is only going to get worse.

I sure hope the double boost of it getting warmer outside and me surviving month three brings my energy back. That or I’m going to need to increase the cleaning lady to twice a week to avoid marriage counseling!

Overall rating of Week 10 so far – 6 (absolutely tolerable but not fun or exciting)

Leave a Reply

